Invitational Leadership Institute

Applications are now being accepted for the 2017-18 Year-Round Institute Model

The Invitational Summer Institute is the cornerstone of the work done by the SVWP and has now been adapted for a Year-Round model in order to accommodate teachers who find the three-week summer model untenable.

Since its beginning in the valley in 2005, teachers from all surrounding districts have learned intensively from the practice of other teachers and this model remains a strong component of the Year Round version.  Teachers learn best practices in using writing or teaching writing from other teachers in the fellowship.  In addition, teachers become writers themselves through frequent writing and sharing in their reading and writing groups.

YEAR-ROUND INSTITUTE SCHEDULE (tentative):  Applications now available here: 

*Two-Day Session:                  July 27 & 28, 2017   9:00 a.m. – 4:00 p.m.                 14 hours
During School Year

Friday, September 1 – Saturday, September 2, 2017 (Labor Day Sept. 4)              10 hours
Saturday, September 23, 2017 Write to Learn Conference 9:00-3:00                         5 hours
Friday, October 6 – Saturday, October 7, 2017 (Columbus Day Oct. 9)                   10 hours
Friday, January 12 – Saturday, January 13, 2018 (MLK day Jan 16)                       10 hours
Friday, February 16 – Saturday, February 17, 2018 (Pres. Day Feb 20)                 10 hours
Friday, April 6 – Saturday, April 7, 2018 (Easter is April 1)                                     10 hours

Online video lesson reviews between class meetings (scheduled by consent)      6 hours

Four –Day Session       June 18, 19, 20, & 21, 2018    9:00 a.m. – 4:00 p.m.              28 hours

*All Saturdays and full day sessions include a social hour & work-through lunch

Fellowship seats are $2,000.  Most districts support successfully accepted candidates.

Fellows earn 6 credits in EDUC or WRC 637, equivalent to 180 VA recertification points.

Teacher Consultants, nominate your colleagues here:

2017 Invitational Summer Institute

Each summer, up to 25 distinguished, teacher fellows come together for an intensive summer institute. The teachers are selected from all disciplines and grade levels, K–University, and share best practices to learn, collaborate, share with other practicing teachers.

Teachers are nominated or may self-select to apply for a seat in the SI.  Applications can be found here:

Beginning in 2016, the Summer Institute joined with the Children’s Literature Conference to focus on Teacher as Writer in the first week.  Participants saw writing process up close by hearing from award-winning authors who told their stories of literacy and revealed the creative process.  We will be continuing this partnership in 2017.  Below are the required dates for attendance in the Summer.

Pre-Institute Workshop (required)   Saturday, May 20    9:00 a.m.-1:00 p.m.
June 26-30  Monday-Friday (Children’s Literature Workshop) 9:00 a.m.-4:00p.m.
July 5-21 Monday-Thursday* 9:00 a.m.-4:00 p.m.
Fall Conference, Saturday, September 23 9:00 a.m.-3:00 p.m.

  • Teachers return for evaluation on the Friday following their presentation.  Social gatherings are scheduled for Thursday following class (extends until 6 p.m.)

Fellows and Staff Announced for the 2017 Summer Institute

Congratulations to the following teachers who have been accepted into the 2017 Summer Invitational Leadership Institute.  Returning fellows have also been named as staff members.

Director: Laura Tucker, Trailside Middle School

Sarah Andino, James G. Brumfield Elementary
Beth Buerkel, Daniel Morgan Middle School
Teresa Cave, Garland R. Quarles Elementary School
Michelle Coleman, North Fork Middle School
Nicole Daquilante, Red Bud Run Elementary School
Star Friend, John Handley High School
Samuel Gesford, North Fork Middle School
Laura Hughes, Blue Ridge Elementary School
Ellen Martin, Garland R. Quarles Elementary School
Camille Murphy, Harmony Middle School
Richelle Riley, James G. Brumfield Elementary
Moriah Rush, E. Wilson MOrrison Elementary
Alice “Katy” Schain, Daniel Morgan Middle School
Shabana Shah, Sugarland Elementary School
Marianne Sutton, Marshall Middle School
Jeanette Wolffe, James G. Brumfield Elementary

Damon Laabs, Trailside Middle School
Shea Finny, Loudoun Valley High School

Fellows and Staff in the current Year-Round Invitational Leadership Institute

Congratulations to the following teachers who have been accepted into the Pilot Year-Round Invitational Leadership Institute, 2016-2017.
Returning fellows have also been named as staff members.

Jaclyn Azat, Trailside Middle School

Heather Campbell, Garland R. Quarles Elementary School

Jennifer Eppard-Morgan, Garland R. Quarles Elementary School

Sarah Fitzgerald, Eastern View High School

Margaret Humphries, Potomac Senior High School

Robert Kilby, Garland R. Quarles Elementary School

Paul Koch, Rock Ridge High School

Beth Konkoski, Broad Run High School

Heather Lark-Rickard, Garland R. Quarles Elementary School

Marina Levi, Tuscarora High School

Dee Dee Livesay, Daniel Morgan Middle School

Staff: Nicole Kaylan and Meghann Donohue, TCs from 2014

Congratulations to the Newest
SVWP Teacher Consultants


Carissa Altizer, Sandy Hook Middle School

John Applin, Capon Bridge Elementary

Danielle Bostick, John Handley High School

Melanie Catron, Warren County Middle School

Emelie Duke, Creighton’s Corner Elementary School

Nicole Korsen, Dominion High School

Damon Laabs, Trailside Middle School

Lisa Larkin, P.B. Smith Elementary School

Jacqueline Mutz, Rock Ridge High School

Timothy “Chip” Newcome, John Handley High School

Rebecca Schwier,  M. M. Pierce Elementary School

Marianne Tomasic, Shepherdstown Middle School



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s